Athlete of the Month

 

securedownloadName:  Tony Esera
Age: 32
Occupation: Police Constable
Lives: Henderson

 

 

 

 

What was your upbringing like Tony? Was sport and exercise something you always did when you were young?

 In short my focus as a young lad went 80% Sport/exercise and 20% Schooling……..I had strict ‘Island’ parents who brought me up the strict ‘Island’ way so I quickly figured out that I had to find a balance and thankfully did alright in both.

I was introduced to Rugby League at age 7 and played right up to about 2 years ago at club, Province and country level so sport has always played a major part in my lift. Growing up I participated in any sport I could get in.

 When did you join up at CFW? 

November 2013

You are an (annoyingly – haha) fit and capable guy! What sort of exercise programme were you doing before you started up here?

 hahaha I’m not fit at all I just hide my pain well…I grew up with the standard daily gym programme. Which was lift heavy weights 6 times a week and road run for cardio every 2nd day. Boring stuff but it was all I knew.

How often do you train in an average week?

6 days a week.

How important is staying healthy and fit to you?

Keeping fit is very important to me. Working hard and keeping active is a life style I embraced at a young age.  If I don’t get a couple of good works out in during the week I can be come a grumpy old man.

Do you remember your first CF workout and what it felt like afterwards?

 Yes it involved 4 rounds of 400 metre runs and 50 air squats. I love the feeling of trying to catch your breath while your heart pounds through your chest knowing you’ve just completed the workout set out! This WOD did it.

How do you push though a difficult WOD?

Knowing someone out there is doing the same WOD but perhaps doing it better and pushing harder than me.

Has cross-fitting had an impact on your work at all? 

 Yes. I spend half of my shift thinking what the WOD might be and how I can get better at some of the movements…… and it’s given me the confidence to know that I’ll be ready to pursue anybody that tries to run and evade me in the execution of my duty.

What about food. What sort of food plan do you follow (if you have one)?

 I try to keep my eating as clean as possible. I eat about six meals a day, four of which usually consist of a decent amount of meat.

Can you also tell us about the recent competition you competed in at HPU crossfit? What did you take out of that?

 It was very exciting and an honour to have been selected to represent Waitakere in my first Team comp at HPU. It motivated me to develop and improve my skill in lifting and gymnastic movements as well as to work on building a bigger engine to better compete in any future comps.

What/who motivates you at the box?

The members pushing themselves next to me motivate me. To see them pushing hard gives me no excuse to go in half hearted.

What are your physical goals for 2014? 

To improve on my oly lifting, mobility and to build a bigger engine

Favourite exercise?

Power Clean

Least favourite?

Overhead Squat

Dream WOD?

Something involving C2B’s, Cleans and Deadlifts
If you could give one piece of advice to someone considering starting out at CFW, what would it be?Don’t think about it, come in, get down, get dirty, do work and feel great after it with coaches that know their stuff!

3 facts about me you may not know;

 1. I competed in a bodybuilding competition in 2011 where I finished 2nd

2. I am married with 2 kids 

3. I worked as a mechanic for 5 years before joining the Police

 


Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment